Main PageShopBuilding Tracker DirectoryResearch LinksRussy Baby Productions

Gunnison History Tracker
Pitkin, Colorado
Bon Ton Hotel
The original Bon Ton Hotel burned in December of 1903. It was rebuilt in 1904. The Bon Ton Hotel was considered "modern" not western. The exterior is of stone, and had an awning over the front windows, with a walkway under the balcony. It had a porch roof over the back extending to the outdoor toilets. There was also a pulley upstairs over the balcony door to pull up steamer trunks. Both the exterior and interior of the building is a great example of finer hotels of the era. The original windows, stairway, wainscoting, basement is still intact, including the meat room and the well. The upstairs rooms include skylights in some of the rooms.

 Pitkin at one time was 12th in population in Colorado. The Alpine Tunnel was above Pitkin and trains came through three times weekly to carry out the ore from surrounding gold and silver mines. Many people stopped for the night at the Bon Ton Hotel and Restaurant. It is still an active Hotel, and to visit it is to step back into history. This property is also on the Colorado Historic Preservation Register.

 Address: 329 Main Street, Pitkin
 Legal: Blk. 38, Lot 21-24, Pitkin
 Current Use: Rustic Hotel
 Contact: JoAn Bannister
 Designated: July 5, 2000

From 1924 until 1962, the wood frame building was the only school serving Pitkin and the surrounding area.
Pitkin Schoolhouse
800 Main
Built in 1900, the Pitkin Town Hall is significant for its role in the history of Pitkin and for its architectural features. The building was designed/built by F.G. Zugelder, a prominent stonemason, and William Ender. In 1908, the town hall was enlarged. As of 1992 it had been in continuous use, providing the setting for town meetings and community activities. It stands on an elevated location above the town and represents turn-of-the-century vernacular architecture and design typical of Colorado’s small mountain towns.
Pitkin Town Hall
400 4th Street